Firefox

Logo für Firefox von der Mozilla Foundation, CC BY 3.0

Firefox is already preinstalled on Ubuntu and most of its derivatives. The browser, which is backed by the Mozilla Foundation, is popular among Linux users and has a high user share especially in Germany – also on Windows computers. On a worldwide scal, Firefox has lost many users since it reached its best times around 2010 with more then 30 Prozent market share. Today, its market share is far, far below Google’s market leading Chrome browser nearly on the same level as Apple’s Safari.

With version 57, Firefox received a new foundation, which not only brings the browser back on par with its competitors in terms of speed. The user interface also benefited from this, which is now cleaner, following the example of Google’s Chrome/Chromium.

Recently, the Firefox makers have placed particularly high value on preserving the user’s privacy. Thus, since version 69, which was released in October 2019, tracking cookies and crypto miners are blocked by default. Fingerprinting protection was activated soon after. These settings can be accessed via the shield icon in the browser’s address bar or via the “Block page elements” menu item.

The Snap controvery

On 3 May 2022 Firefox 100 was published. However, the main topic among Ubuntu users was the re-packaging of Firefox as a Snap, which was introduced in Ubuntu 21.04 and completely implemented in Ubuntu 22.04 by transforming all existing .deb package installs of Firefox to Snaps. According to the Ubuntu developers, this was requested by Mozilla in order to minimize the effort of packaging Firefox every new Firefox relase for various supported Ubuntu versions. While this is a legitimate reason, the outcry in the Linux community was loud, since critics felt that Canonical, the Company behind Ubuntu, wanted to force them into using their own Snap format.

Apart from such strategic reasons, the noticable tradeoff of the Firefox Snap in the daily work is its long startup time. Particularly on old computers with weak hardware, users report that it takes half a minute and more for Firefox to startup. Even on contemporary hardware Firefox starts a bit slower when installed as a Snap.

Storage locations and backup

In Debian and Ubuntu, Firefox stores each user’s profile in a folder in the $HOME/.mozilla directory. Profile folders consist of bookmarks, saved passwords, browsing history, plugins etc. For backup purposes, simply copy the profile folder to another destination. Since Firefox is also available on Windows and OS-X, it is good to know that they can simply be copied from Linux to another operating system. Moreover, Firefox has a cloud based synchonisation feature.

Where does the Firefox Snap store the profile folder?

When Firefox is installed as a Snap, the profile folder is located at  $HOME/snap/firefox/common/.mozilla/firefox.

Installation

Since Ubuntu 22.04 Firefox was packaged as a Snap only. Existing Installations were automatically migrated from .deb packages to Snaps when upgrading. Even if you choose to install Firefox the old school way with apt …

sudo apt install firefox

… the Snap gets installed.

Spell checker dictionaries, including a version for new German spelling, can be installed from the Firefox add-on page.

Alternatives

Chromium is the main alternative for Linux users. Some “lean” Linux desktops even give Google’s open-source browser preference from the start. Falcon, formerly Qupzilla, is preparing to become the new default browser for KDE; Kubuntu, however, continues to install Firefox.

Firefox

Logo für Firefox von der Mozilla Foundation, CC BY 3.0

Firefox ist bei Ubuntu und den meisten seiner Derivate als Standardanwendung bereits vorinstalliert. Der Browser, hinter dem die Mozilla-Stiftung steht, ist bei Linux-Nutzern beliebt und hat gerade in Deutschland – auch auf Windows-Rechnern – vergleichsweise viele Nutzer. Weltweit hat Firefox seit seinen besten Zeiten um 2010 mit einem Marktanteil von mehr als 30 Prozent jedoch stark abgebaut und liegt heute weit, weit – etwa auf dem gleichen Niveau wie Apples Safari – hinter Googles Chrome-Browser zurück.

Mit Version 57 erhielt Firefox einen neuen Unterbau, der den Browser nicht nur Geschwindigkeits-mäßig wieder auf Augenhöhe mit seinen Konkurrenten brachte. Davon profitierte auch die Benutzer-Oberfläche, die sich nach dem Vorbild von Googles Chrome/Chromium aufgeräumter präsentiert.

In jüngster Zeit legen die Firefox-Macher besonders hohen Wert auf die Wahrung der Privatsphäre des Nutzers. So werden seit der im Oktober 2019 erschienenen Version 69 standardmäßig Tracking-Cookies und Krypto-Miner blockiert. Später kam ein Fingerprinting-Schutz hinzu. Diese Einstellungen erreicht man über das Schild-Symbol in der Adressleiste des Browsers oder über den Menüpunkt „Seitenelemente blockieren“.

Die Snap-Kontroverse

Am 3. Mai 2022 wurde Firefox 100 publiziert. Das Hauptthema unter Ubuntu-Nutzern war jedoch ein anderes: Beginnend in Ubuntu 21.04 und komplett umgesetzt in Ubuntu 22.04 wurde Firefox nicht mehr per .deb-Paket, sondern nur noch als Snap ausgeliefert. Laut den Ubuntu-Entwicklern geschah dies auf Wunsch von Mozilla, um den Aufwand zu reduzieren, den es bedeutet, jede neue Firefox-Veröffentlichung für diverse unterstützte Ubuntu-Versionen zu paketieren. Sicherlich ein berechtigter Grund – doch war der Aufschrei in der Linux-Community laut, weil die Kritiker befürchteten, dass Canonical, die Firma hinter Ubuntu, sie auf diese Weise zur Nutzung des hauseigenen, aber unbeliebten Snap-Formats zwingen wollte.

Abseits solcher strategischer Erwägungen hat der Firefox-Snap einen für alle User spürbaren Nachteil, die lange Startzeit. Speziell Nutzer von alten Computern mit schwacher Hardware berichten, dass Firefox eine halbe Minute oder mehr braucht um zu starten. Selbst auf aktualler Hardware legt der Firefox-Snap beim ersten Start eine kleine Gedenkpause ein.

Speicherorte und Backup

In Debian oder Ubuntu speichert Firefox seine Profile in Ordnern unterhalb von $HOME/.mozilla. Profilordner enthalten Lesezeichen, gespeicherte Passwörtern, Browser-Verlauf, gecachte Daten, Plugins etc. Um Backups anzufertigen, kopiert man den Profilordner einfach an einen anderen Speicherort. Da Firefox auch unter Windows und OS-X angeboten wird, können die Profile einfach zwischen verschiedenen Betriebssystemen hin und her kopiert werden. Firefox stellt auch eine Synchronisation der eigenen Browserdaten per Cloud bereit.

Wo befindet sich der Profilordner beim Firefox-Snap?

Wenn Firefox als Snap installiert wurde, befindet sich der Profilordner unter  $HOME/snap/firefox/common/.mozilla/firefox.

Installation

Seit Ubuntu 22.04 wird Firefox nur noch als Snap gepflegt. Bestehende Installationen werden beim Upgrade vom deb-Paketformat zum Snap migriert. Selbst die althergebrachte Installation mit apt …

sudo apt install firefox

ist so umgebogen, dass der Snap installiert wird.

Wörterbücher für die Rechtschreib-Korrektur, darunter eine Version für neue deutsche Rechtschreibung, lassen sich von der Firefox-Add-on-Seite nachinstallieren.

Alternativen

Chromium ist die Hauptalternative für Linux-Nutzer. Einige „schlanke“ Linux-Desktops geben Googles quelloffenen Browser sogar von vornherein den Vorzug. Falcon, früher Qupzilla, schickt sich an, neuer Standard-Browser für KDE zu werden; Kubuntu installiert aber weiterhin Firefox.